Policies & FAQs

What are the top sellers?

How many different spirit items do I have to choose from?

What does the Mecklenburg County ABC Board do with excess cardboard boxes?

Monthly Specials

Special Orders

Acceptable forms of payment

Purchase Policies

Persons under the age of 21 in our stores
It is the policy of the Mecklenburg County ABC Board to prohibit anyone 18, 19, or 20 years of age from entering our stores. Children under the age of 18 may enter our stores, as long as they are accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

Acceptable Forms of ID
It is the responsibility of the customer to prove they are 21 years of age. The forms of ID acceptable in Mecklenburg County ABC Stores include:

  •  A valid U.S. driver's license (If using either a temporary or state-issued paper license it must have the customer's picture on it. Any state-issued paper license without a picture printed on it must be accompanied with the expired license). 
  •  A valid North Carolina ID card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles 
  •  A valid passport (or passport card issued in the United States)
  •  A valid U.S. Military ID

Group ID Policy
It is the policy of the Mecklenburg County ABC Board to immediately check the ID of any young person, as soon as they enter our store. An entire group of people can be refused if any member of the group is underage or unable to produce an acceptable form of ID.

Return Policy
A customer may return up to four unopened bottles of liquor to our stores for a refund on the payment media they used at the time of the sale, as long as they have the original sales receipt. If a customer wants to return an unopened bottle of liquor and does NOT have their sales receipt, refund will be issued on a gift card.

Transportation Permits
In accordance with North Carolina ABC laws, a customer may purchase up to eight (8) liters of alcohol (distilled spirits) from our stores without a transportation permit. With a transportation permit, the customer may purchase up to forty (40) liters of alcohol and subsequently transport their purchase within the State of North Carolina. A transportation permit is issued free of charge at the store, and is valid until 9:30 p.m. on the date it is issued.

If you need a transportation permit to transport more than eight liters of alcohol after 9:30p.m. of the day of the original purchase, you can obtain an additional permit by returning to one of our stores and advising us how much you need to relocate. Our sales associates are unable to provide "blank" permits to patrons.

Transportation permits are also available (and necessary) when purchasing large quantities of wine. The quantity limits for fortified wine are the same as the aforementioned limits described for alcohol (distilled spirits). However, a customer may purchase up to twenty (20) liters of unfortified wines without a transportation permit and a maximum of 100 liters with a transportation permit. Customers planning to purchase large quantities of wine may obtain a permit from an ABC store at no charge.

Note: A permit is not required for the purchase of beer. However, a person cannot legally purchase more than 80 liters of beer per transaction, except in kegs.

For additional statutory information on ABC Board policies, please see the North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission.